Home Nation Membership

Are you covered?

Insurance is just one of many Home Nation Membership benefits, but means you can train and race with confidence all year round!

Sprint Distance Champions crowned in Thorpe Park showdown


Set within the grounds of the theme park, the highlight of racing this course is the run route through the centre of the theme park - what a fantastic place to finish!

(Photo credit: Spento Photos)

On Sunday 3 June there was only one thing providing more excitement than the rides at Thorpe Park, and that was the Sprint Distance Triathlon Championships at the Thorpe Park Sprint Distance Triathlon which welcomed nearly 800 participants, some of whom were in search of a Triathlon England National title and the opportunity to qualify to represent the Great Britain Age-Group team at the 2019 ETU Sprint distance triathlon championships.

Event Overview

Competitors started with a 750m swim in Fleet Lake before taking to the surrounding roads on the 21km course and finishing with a final 5km run that heads through the centre of the theme park.

Sam Wade (25-29) came home as the first male finisher in a time of 57:59 and said "I'm delighted to win the Triathlon England Championship, especially with it being so close to home. Next up is the standard distance at #WTSLeeds, before heading back south to take on the British Middle Distance Championships at the Festival of Endurance at the start of July."

Lizzie Rayner (20-24) clocked a time of 1:06:26 to record the fastest female time of the day and said "Really happy with performance today as it was my first open water event of the year, and the first competitive race on my new bike. A few road races before taking part in the British Elite Sprint Championships at the Cardiff Triathlon at the end of June."

Full event results can be found here.

2018 Triathlon England Standard Distance Triathlon Champions

Age-Group Female Winner Male Winner
Under 20 Cecilia Hime Oscar Rogers
20-24 Lizzie Rayner James Hodgson
25-29 Jessica Sleight Sam Wade
30-34 Rachel Nicholl Edward Castro
35-39 Nicola Timmins Gary Laybourne
40-44 Helen Nicholls Patrick Tierney
45-49 Lena Poulton Mark Whittaker
50-54 Maria Powell Richard Searle
55-59 Rebecca Watt Bob Pearce
60-64 Jane Bell James Nowak
65-69 Anne Hughes John Ryan
70-74 Anne Fish Kenneth Beecham
75-79   Roderick Paton
80+ Judith McKay  

Thanks to our Partners

Join Us

And enjoy insurance benefits, race licensing and more...