British Triathletes Feature Heavily in 220 Triathlon Awards 2019


Alistair Brownlee, Lauren Steadman, George Peasgood and Alex Yee amongst the winners of the 220 Triathlon Awards 2019.

For a year packed with success for British athletes, the 220 Triathlon Awards, as voted for by their readers, reflects the outstanding achievements of many from the sport in 2019. With more broken records and stunning victories, the standards of the sport have been raised even higher going into the new decade.

Former ITU world champion and IRONMAN world record breaker, Tim Don was the recipient of the award for Outstanding Contribution to Triathlon. Also considered for the award was BBC Breakfast’s Louise Minchin and ultra-triathlete, Claire Smith.

The category for Women’s Elite Triathlete of the Year was won by IRONMAN World Championship silver medallist, Lucy Charles-Barclay. The runners-up included 2019 ITU World Triathlon Grand Final Lausanne silver medallist, Jess Learmonth and Germany’s Anne Haug.

Alistair Brownlee was announced as the winner of the award for Male Elite Triathlete of the Year. Brownlee had a stellar year, not only taking the title of European Champion for the fourth time but also establishing himself as a long-distance triathlete, as he placed 2nd at the 70.3 World Championships and left both IRONMAN Ireland, Cork and IRONMAN Western Australia victorious. Three-time IRONMAN world champion, Jan Frodeno (GER) and IRONMAN Florida winner Joe Skipper were voted 2nd and 3rd respectively.

British national champion (PTS5), George Peasgood received the award for Male Paratriathlete of the Year. He was followed by 2019 Tokyo ITU Paratriathlon World Cup winner, Dave Ellis (PTVI) and PTWC British national champion, Joe Townsend.

The award for Female Paratriathlete of the Year went to reigning European champion, Lauren Steadman (PTS5). The runners-up for this award were two-time ITU World champion, Hannah Moore (PTS4) and PTWC national champion, Jade Hall.

The Youth Triathlete of the year award, for athletes of 21 years and under, was won by 2019 Daman World Triathlon Abu Dhabi silver medallist, Alex Yee. Ben Dijkstra and Olivia Mathias were runners-up. Both athletes were a part of the silver-medal winning Mixed U23-Junior Relay team at 2019 ITU World Triathlon Grand Final Lausanne.

Age-Grouper of the Year was awarded to Ruth Purbrook. The age-group champion achieved the second fastest female age-group time ever at Kona last year. IRONMAN UK winner, Brian Fogarty and world and European 25-29 age-group champion, Oliver Crossley were both runners-up.

Finally, Coach of the Year was awarded to Team Oxygenaddict coach, Rob Wilby. Those also considered included age-group IRONMAN coach, Simon Ward and Do3 head coach, Dave Knight.

There were also awards given to the Race of the Year, Tri Club of the Year, the most Innovative Product of the Year and many others.


Thanks to our Partners

Join Us

And enjoy insurance benefits, race licensing and more...