Ellis elected to BPA Athletes’ Commission


Dave Ellis is one of five athletes who have been voted on to the British Paralympic Association Athletes’ Commission following November’s election.

Regining World, European and Commonwealth PTVI champion Ellis made his Paralympic debut as a swimmer in Beijing 2008 before switching to paratriathlon at Tokyo 2020 where he unfortunately suffered a broken bike chain.

The Athletes’ Commission elections take place every two years, with athletes able to serve a maximum of two four-year terms.

Tokyo 2020 Para canoe gold medallist Charlotte Henshaw, who began her Paralympic career in swimming winning silver at London 2012 and bronze at Rio 2016 was re-elected for a second term alongside cycling’s two-time Paralympic champion Lora Fachie.

Seven-time Paralympic champion Hannah Cockroft (athletics) and Kelly Gallagher (snowsport), Great Britain’s first ever Winter Paralympic gold medallist (Sochi 2014), also secured spots on the Commission and will take up their posts in the New Year.

Sean Rose (snowsport), Ali Jawad (powerlifting) and Grace Clough (rowing) are standing down from the Commission after completing a four-year term.

The Athletes’ Commission - established in 2013 – is made up of 12 current or retired Paralympians, chaired by Beijing 2008 rowing gold medallist Helene Raynsford. The Commission acts as an advisory group to the BPA, representing the views of athletes across a wide range of issues, from classification to campaigns and kit.

Chair Helene Raynsford said: “I’d like to thank all the athletes who put themselves forward for election and to those who took the time to vote. It is an exciting time to be a part of the Commission, advising the BPA on new social impact projects as well as doing all we can to help make ParalympicsGB is the best prepared team at the Paralympic Games.

“I’m delighted to see such a talented and passionate group of athletes come together in our Athletes’ Commission and look forward to welcoming the new members as we look ahead to Paris 2024, Milano Cortina 2026 and beyond.”

BPA Chief Executive Mike Sharrock added: “The Athletes’ Commission plays a vital role at the BPA, advising on numerous issues as well as providing an important platform for athletes to have a voice. My thanks go to Ali, Sean and Grace for their invaluable contribution over the last four years, and welcome to new and returning members who I know will work tirelessly to support ParalympicsGB in the coming years.

**BPA Athletes’ Commission **

Helene Raynsford (Chair) – retired (rowing)

Lora Fachie (cycling)

Charlotte Henshaw (canoe)

Libby Clegg (athletics)

Natasha Baker (equestrian)

Gaz Choudhry (Wheelchair basketball)

Claire Taggart (boccia)

Helen Scott (cycling)

Tania Nadarajah (archery)

Hannah Cockroft (athletics)

Dave Ellis (triathlon)

Kelly Gallagher – retired (snowsport)

Thanks to our Partners

Join Us

And enjoy insurance benefits, race licensing and more...