Horton and Schwiening win world duathlon titles


Great Britain’s elite and Age-Group triathletes won an impressive 19 gold medals between them at the Ottawa ITU Duathlon World Championships. Richard Horton stepped up from junior gold last year to U23 gold this year and George Schwiening won the junior women’s gold medal.

Richard Horton, a Loughborough University student, underlined his talent with another international gold medal having only taken up multisport last year. He lead from the start and was dominant on the bike.

He said: “It was an awesome experience with the GB team in here in Ottawa. I wanted to make the race hard from the off and it became a real war of attrition played out at super fast speeds.

“I’m so proud to be part of a four medal-winning elite GB team and to be heading home a world champion once more."

Cambridge based George Schwiening, turned last year’s silver into gold by escaping from the rest of the junior field on the bike. She won by more than four minutes from Ivana Kuriackova of Slovakia. Britain’s Kate Curran won bronze and Calum Johnson added another junior bronze in the men’s event.

The Age-Group team scooped 17 gold, 12 silver and 12 bronze medals. Gill Fullen was the fastest overall in the women’s standard distance event whilst Mathilde Pauls and Geoffrey Beetham were the fastest overall in the sprint event. A special mention should be given to David Peck, who won gold in the standard distance event in the 80-84 Age-Group.

Adrian Howden was Britain’s sole representative in the Paraduathlon events and won silver in the Tri5 category.


Men U23

1.    Richard Horton (GBR) 53:33
2.    Peter Ostergaard (DEN) 54:24          
3.    Connor Darlington (CAN) 54:32

Women Junior

1.    Georgina Schwiening (GBR) 1:02:32
2.    Ivana Kuriackova (SVK) 1:06:39
3.    Kate Curran (GBR) 1:07:12

Men Junior

1.    Jorik Van Egdom (NED) 53:54        
2.    Anders Lund Hansen (DEN) 54:05    
3.    Calum Johnson (GBR) 54:12

Men Paratriathlon TRI-5

1. Gilberto Alavez Lopez (MEX) 1:11:18
2. Adrian Howden (GBR) 1:17:26


Standard Distance:


M20-24   Ryan Ostler
F25-29    Clare Miller
M25-29   James Coleman
M35-39   Sean Scott
M40-44   Lee Piercy
F40-44    Jayne Williams
F45-49    Gill Fullen
M45-49   Steve Mckeown
F60-64    Elspeth Knott
M80-84   David Peck


F20-24    Samantha Aplin
M20-24   Anthony Meager
F25-29    Ellen Barnes
F30-34    Kate Hodgkiss
M45-49   Stewart Gregory
M50-54   Robert McLean
M60-64   Ian Wells


F20-24    Fiona Bracegirdle
M30-34   Thomas Crouch
F35-39    Katie Thompson
M40-44   Chris Nicoll
M55-59   Peter Wheddon
M60-64   Christopher Owens

Sprint Distance:


M16-19   Gareth Smith
F20-24    Eloise du Luart
F30-34    Mathilde Pauls
M30-34   Peter Ellis
M35-39   Geoffrey Beetham
M40-44   Alan Murchison
M75-79   Maurice Young


M25-29   Matt Welsh
M30-34   Darren Middleton
F40-44    Sue Walker
M45-49   Craig Dyce
F60-64    Sharon Bardsley


M16-19   Isaac Dunn
F20-24    Claire Lilley
M20-24   Richard Agan
M25-29   Matthew Hallam
F55-59    Heather Lambert
M55-59   Geoff Brewster

Thanks to our Partners

Join Us

And enjoy insurance benefits, race licensing and more...