Non Stanford elected to BOA Athletes' Commission


Stanford is one of six athletes elected as the newest members of the British Olympic Association’s (BOA) Athletes’ Commission.

The Athletes’ Commission was formed in 2010 to help ensure that athletes are at the heart of everything the BOA does, with their perspective and expertise informing decision making across the organisation. Made up of current and former athletes from a range of summer and winter Olympic sports, the group ensures the athlete voice is fully represented, with the Chair responsible for feeding the views of the Commission back to the BOA Board.

Stanford, Abigail Irozuru (Athletics), Alex Danson-Bennett (Hockey) and Lloyd Wallace (Freestyle Skiing) will all join the Commission for the first time in 2023, while Kristian Thomas (Artistic Gymnastics) and Georgie Twigg (Hockey) have both been re-elected for a second term. Alistair Brownlee is also a member of the commission.

This year has seen the former world champion retire and take up coaching at British Triathlon's performance centre in Leeds. In her final season, Stanford won the European Championships in Munich and picked up Commonwealth mixed relay silver in Birmingham for Team Wales.

Speaking about her appointment, Stanford said: “I feel very privileged to be chosen to represent the athlete voice on the BOA Athletes’ Commission. Thank you to everyone who voted, I can't wait to begin.”

BOA’s Athletes’ Commission

Chair: Lizzie Simmonds (Swimming)

Non Stanford (Triathlon) 

Alistair Brownlee (Triathlon, EOC and IOC Athletes’ Commission representative)

Abbie Brown (Rugby Sevens)

Alex Danson-Bennett (Hockey) 

Adam Gemili (Athletics)

Abigail Irozuru (Athletics)

Andrew Matthews (Bobsleigh)

Eve Muirhead (Curling)

Bryony Page (Trampoline)

Kristian Thomas (Artistic Gymnastics) 

Georgie Twigg (Hockey) 

Lloyd Wallace (Freestyle Skiing) 

Lizzy Yarnold (Skeleton)

Thanks to our Partners

Join Us

And enjoy insurance benefits, race licensing and more...