Stanford voted onto World Triathlon Athletes Committee


Former World Champion Non Stanford has been confirmed as one of the 10 representatives on the World Triathlon Athletes Committee.

The role of athletes in the decision-making process of World Triathlon has been a fundamental principle of the organisation since its creation in Avignon, France, 1989. The inclusion of two members of the Athletes Committee on the World Triathlon Executive Board has strengthened the role of the athletes and is an integral part of the continued success as an International Federation striving to be ‘athlete centered’.

Stanford is one of the most experienced athletes on the British programme after taking up triathlon in 2009.

Her transition from track running to triathlon was a successful one, with a breakthrough year in 2012. She won senior gold in the ITU Triathlon Mixed Relay and U23 gold at the ITU World Championships in that season. The following year started with a win in the ITU World Triathlon Series in Madrid, before going on to take her maiden senior world title in London. Along the way she achieved podium finishes in San Diego, Hamburg and Stockholm.

She has never rested on her laurels though and returned to action at the 2018 Commonwealth Games captaining her beloved Wales and then most recently winning the World Triathlon race in Hamburg in 2019.

The constitution of World Triathlon was amended in 2012 to include a modification to the make-up of the Athletes Committee to include Para triathletes.

According to the current constitution, the committee is composed of five athletes of each gender, at least one member shall come from each of the five continents, two members shall be Para triathletes with one from each gender and eight shall be elite athletes with four from each gender.

The full list of athletes are:

Non Stanford GBR
Kenji Nener JPN
Nicola Spirig SUI
Claire Michel BEL
Richard Varga SVK
Tamas Toth HUN
Allysa Seely USA
Jonathan Goerlach AUS
Mehdi Essadiq MAR
Basmla Elsalamoney EGY

Thanks to our Partners

Join Us

And enjoy insurance benefits, race licensing and more...