Super League returns with Championship Series London


Canary Wharf will once again welcome elite triathletes from across the world to compete in Super League’s unique style of swim, bike, run this Sunday.

The first of four races in the 2022 Championship Series, London will kick off with both of last year's winners, Georgia Taylor-Brown and Alex Yee, on the start line. Yee was also victorious in the 2022 Arena Games series alongside Beth Potter.

British interest will be high as Potter, Taylor-Brown, Sian Rainsley, Sophie Coldwell, Non Stanford, Kate Waugh and Sophia Green line up in the women’s event, with Yee, Jonny Brownlee and Dan Dixon all going in the men’s event.

Free to spectate, the action will take place around Canary Wharf’s North Dock and West India Quay on a tight and compact course. The elite races start at 12:09pm (women’s race followed by men’s at 13:24) and will be preceded by a TriStar duathlon for entrants aged 9-14 years.

The elite action will be live on BBC Red Button, iPlayer and the Super League website from 12:00pm.

The athletes taking part across the series have been selected to race in five teams. Potter and Waugh will race for Team Sharks; Taylor-Brown goes for Team Bahrain Victorious Scorpions; Coldwell and Brownlee battle for Team Cheetahs; and Stanford, Rainsley, Green and Dixon will compete as part of Team Eagles; while Yee will race in London as a wildcard athlete.

International athletes staring in the nation’s capital will include Hayden Wilde (Sharks – NZL), Richard Murray (Cheetahs – RSA) and Jamie Riddle (Eagles – RSA), Rachel Klamer (Cheetahs – NED), Cassandre Beaugrand (Scorpions – FRA) and Taylor Spivey (Rhinos – USA).

The race in London will see the athletes compete in the Triple Mix format. Three stages of swimming, cycling and running with the order different each time and stages one and two defining the starting order for stage three’s pursuit race.

Stage one will see the classic swim, bike, run structure before a quick turnaround into stage two (run, bike, swim). The first two stages will both be mass starts with the athletes’ accumulated times setting the starting order for stage three’s pursuit bike, swim, run to the finish. There will be two minutes between stages one and two, and four minutes between two and three.

Three short chutes will also be available to be won. The first for the athlete first in stage one across the mount line after the swim; the second for the first athlete across the dismount line at the end of the bike on stage one; and the final for the first athlete across the finish of stage one. Each team can only win a maximum of one.

Spicing up the action again this year will be the team element of the competition, with short chutes won for the team and the team manager deciding who uses it on the first lap of the stage three run to cut the run that bit shorter. Plus, any athlete who falls more than 90 seconds behind the leader is eliminated at the end of that discipline.

Following London, Super League will head to Munich and Malibu to make three consecutive weeks of action before races in Toulouse (2 October) and Neom (29 October). The series winners will be crowned in the Saudi city.

SLT London

Photo credit: Super League Triathlon

Thanks to our Partners

Join Us

And enjoy insurance benefits, race licensing and more...