British Triathlon Federation British Triathlon take honours at inaugural European Triathlon Union Gala Dinner

British Triathlon Federation

Builds profile and delivers world-class performances

Where Am I?

British Triathlon take honours at inaugural European Triathlon Union Gala Dinner

British Triathlon were awarded the title of National Federation of the Year, as the sport’s key figures gathered in Paris for the inaugural European Triathlon Union Gala Dinner.

Date Published: 18 January 2016

Held at the Comité National Olympique Sportif Français (C.N.S.O.F) in the French capital, the evening followed the annual ETU President's Conference; which featured representatives from 33 European Federations, plus many event organisers and Local Organising Committees, planning for the year ahead.

Ian Howard, British Triathlon President, said: “We’re delighted to receive this award as we gear up for an exciting year of triathlon. It’s particularly gratifying that we were awarded not solely on account of our elite performances, although that certainly played a part, but the enthusiasm and success of our Great Britain Age-Group community.

“Their role in giving credibility to age-group racing across Europe was cited as being the decisive factor; recognising what hundreds of British Age-Groupers have achieved over the last 12 months.”

Award Citation:

" For the performances of its elite and para athletes and for its unrivalled Age Group participation. The presence at every championship of a large team wearing national uniforms helps create a special atmosphere and is a shining example to other federations."

There were a further five awards presented during the course of the evening; recognising national federations, athletes and officials across Europe.

Guest speakers Vanessa Fernandes, Camilla Pedersen and ITU President, Marisol Casado also took the stage, before the evening paid tribute to French Olympian, Laurent Vidal, who died last November aged 31.

Full awards list:

Emerging National Federation of the Year: CROATIA

National Federation of the Year: GREAT BRITAIN

Technical Officer of the Year: JORGE GARCIA and BELA VARGE


Female Athlete of the Year: NICOLA SPIRIG

Male Athlete of the Year: JAVIER GOMEZ

Site by