British age group champions crowned in sprint distance triathlon


The latest set of British champions were crowned on Sunday (26 June) as Cardiff Triathlon hosted the British Sprint Distance Triathlon Championships where there were a number of close finishes and a total of 25 British titles won.

Held in the shadow of the Wales Millennium Centre in Cardiff Bay, age group athletes competed over a 750m swim, 18.5km bike and 4.7km run with medals, including British titles, being awarded to the first three British Triathlon members across the line in each age group.

The sprint distance is the shortest of the opportunities to become British champion in triathlon in 2022 and for some athletes, the event in Cardiff provided a chance to add the sprint title to the standard distance gold they won two weeks ago in Leeds.

British standard champions Donald Brooks (M45-49), Stuart Robinson (M60-64) and Chris Goulden (M65-69) all achieved that feat climbing onto the top step of the British Triathlon podium for the second time in a month as they all won the British sprint title in their respective age group.

The nature of sprint distance racing set-up some brilliant battles as athletes went head-to-head to win their age group title. One of the closest races of the afternoon was in the female 45-49 category which saw Anna Bellamy take the title ahead of Lena Poulton on the line.

Only a few seconds separated Jasmine Cooper and Georgia Huddleston in the female 20-24 age group as Cooper secured the race win, while the male 30-34 age group was another close race with the top-three separated by just 13 seconds as Sam Hopton became British champion.

The competitive racing continued across the age groups and the honour of being the fastest female on the day went to Megan Blake who secured gold in the female 25-29 age group. The men’s honour was shared between Brooks and British Triathlon Super Series Youth athlete Deri McCluskey, who was the male U20 age group winner

Victory in the female U20 age group was earned by Flo Studdert-Kennedy, while Joshua Jones and Will Atkinson are the new British champions in the 20-24 and 25-29 age groups, respectively.

A week after winning the Triathlon England Aquathlon title for the 65-69 age group, Anne Hughes added the British sprint title in Cardiff, while John Weller is the new British champion in the male 75-79.

Elisabeth Ogbonmwan upgraded her bronze from the standard distance to sprint gold in the 30-34 age group. There were also victories for Emma Palfrey and Andrew Gordon in the 35-39 age group and Nicola Timmins and Robert Green in 40-44.

Celia Miall (F50-54), Simon Crook (M50-54), Sara Northover (F55-59), Keith Tannetta (M55-59) and Claire Jackson (F60-64) also all became British champions.

The British Standard Distance Triathlon Championships were also a qualifying event for age group athletes who had registered their intent to qualify to represent the Great Britain Age-Group Team at the 2023 World Sprint Triathlon Championships. To find out more about qualifying for the GB Age-Group Team visit the Age-Group page here.

Find out about upcoming British and Home Nation Championships by using the button below.


2022 British Sprint Distance Triathlon Championships medallists


Female: Gold – Flo Studdert-Kennedy / Silver – Lucy Wilkins

Male: Gold – Deri McCluskey / Silver – Jonah Marks / Bronze – Thomas Belcher


Female: Gold – Jasmine Cooper / Silver – Georgia Huddleston / Bronze – Chloe Dooley

Male: Gold – Joshua Jones / Silver – Ben Thomas / Bronze – George Comins


Female: Gold – Megan Blake / Silver – Emily Varley / Bronze – Jasmine Bowyer

Male: Gold – Will Atkinson / Silver – Will Kirk / Bronze – Benjamin Sommerville


Female: Gold – Elisabeth Ogbonmwan / Silver – Kate Hutchinson / Bronze – Carys Mai Hughes

Male: Gold – Sam Hopton / Silver – Greg Divall / Bronze – Alejandro Romero


Female: Gold – Emma Palfrey / Silver – Lucy Burn / Bronze – Gemma Traviss-Turner

Male: Gold – Andrew Gordon / Silver – Craig Dale / Bronze – Jon Reiliy


Female: Gold – Nicola Timmins / Silver – Christine Lutsch / Bronze – Lucy Etherton

Male: Gold – Robert Green / Silver – Devilliers Van Den Brink / Bronze – Jonathan Phillips


Female: Gold – Anna Bellamy / Silver – Lena Poulton / Bronze – Kate Nimmo

Male: Gold – Donald Brooks / Silver – Garry Walker / Bronze – Ed Buckley


Female: Gold – Celia Miall / Silver – Karen Murphy / Bronze – Fiona Ableson Bradshaw

Male: Gold – Simon Crook / Silver – Tobias Ward / Bronze – Gareth Bowyer


Female: Gold – Sara Northover / Silver – Caroline Cresswell / Bronze – Jenny Jeeves

Male: Gold – Keith Tannetta / Silver – Jonny Rawlings / Bronze – Paul Algieri


Female: Gold – Claire Jackson / Silver – Helen Kula-Przezwanski / Bronze – Lousie Alan-Smith

Male: Gold – Stuart Robinson / Silver – Mick Flaherty / Bronze – Tony Sawyer


Female: Gold – Anne Hughes / Silver – Cora O’Mahony / Bronze – Nicky Deanesimmons

Male: Gold – Chris Goulden / Silver – James Nowak / Bronze – Keith Muggleton


Female: Gold – Anne Fish / Silver – Margaret Sills / Bronze – Sue Graves

Male: Gold – Michael Dunne / Silver – Alan Dewey / Bronze – Graham Le Good


Male: Gold – John Weller

Thanks to our Partners

Join Us

Enjoy insurance benefits, race licensing and more...