The Brownlee’s “Brothers in Arms” Nominated for Laureus Sporting Moment Award 2000-2020


The iconic moment at the 2016 ITU World Triathlon Grand Final Cozumel has been shortlisted as one of the most powerful sporting moments from across the last two decades.

The Laureus Sporting Moment Awards allow you to vote for the moment that you believe exemplifies the true values of sport: fair play, sportsmanship, humanity, overcoming adversity, dedication and the power of sport to unite us.

Above: Laureus Sporting Moment 2000 - 2020 | 20 moments, 20 years | Vote Now

The Brownlee brothers' unforgettable display at the 2016 ITU World Triathlon Grand Final Cozumel has been shortlisted for the award alongside twenty other powerful sporting moments. In a competitive ITU World Grand Final, set in the sweltering Mexican heat, former ITU World Champion, Jonathan Brownlee broke away from a leading pack made up of both his brother Alistair and Henri Schoeman (RSA).

A win for Jonny on the day would have handed him the ITU world title and with just 700m to the finish line, the victory was in sight. However, it was at this part of the race when Jonny began to stagger with exhaustion. What followed was a moment that has since been committed to the sporting history books. Alistair took Jonny under his arm, guiding him to the finish to take second place, just 18 seconds behind Schoeman. This silver medal put Jonny an agonising four points behind series winner Mario Mola (ESP) in the final standings.

After the race, two-time Olympic gold-medallist, Alistair Brownlee commented: “If it happened to anyone, I’d help them across the line, it’s an awful position to be in. If he conked out a k [kilometre] from the finish line and there is no medical support, it’s a dangerous position to be in.”

The awards have three knock-out rounds, with the first round reducing the initial list to ten moments and the second settling on a top five. The final vote will then follow to find the overall winner. Voting for the first round closes at 12 noon on 22 January 2020, with voting for further rounds to be announced. The overall winner will be revealed on Monday 17 February 2020 in Berlin.


Thanks to our Partners

Join Us

And enjoy insurance benefits, race licensing and more...