British success in SLT Arena Games London paratriathlon action


The paratriathlon racing at SLT Arena Games Powered by Zwift saw the athletes split into four teams racing across two waves.

The teams were made up of a mix of athletes from across the men’s and women’s PTWC, PTS2, PTS4, PTS5 and PTVI categories, with categories grouped together for the two mixed-gender waves of 300m swim, 10km bike and 2km run.

In the first wave, Joshua Landmann, George Peasgood, Dave Ellis and Oscar Kelly raced alongside Nico Van Der Burgt, Brendan Bischoff, Margret Ijdema (all Netherlands), Hector Catala, Jairo Ruiz Lopez (both Spain) and Nicolas Dewalque (Belgium), with Peasgood taking the wave victory.

Peasgood was first out of the water and onto the static bike. He maintained his lead through the virtual bike and virtual run stages on Zwift, with Ellis second to complete his swim, bike, run.

The second wave saw Claire Cashmore, Lauren Steadman, Melissa Reid, Alison Peasgood, Michael Taylor and Finley Jakes racing with Alejandro Sanchez Palomero (Spain), Geert Schipper, Jetze Plat (both Netherlands) and Joe Kurt (Luxembourg).

Taylor dominated the swim to give himself a lead onto the bike, however 2019 PTWC world champion, Plat, showed his speed on the bike and run legs to take the wave win with Taylor second.

In a close battle that saw Cashmore and Steadman neck-and-neck across all three disciplines, it was the Cashmore who crossed the virtual line ahead of her compatriot to finish third.

The overall team results were taken from the standings in each gendered classification (e.g. men’s PTWC and women’s PTVI), with athletes earning points for their team based on position.

In the  PTVI category, Dave Ellis took the men’s victory and Alison Peasgood the women’s, with George Peasgood and Claire Cashmore winning the PTS5 category. Fellow Brit Michael Taylor won the men’s PTS4 category, with Dutch athletes Jetze Plat and Margret Ijdema both taking victory in the PTWC category.

The combined rankings saw Team 4 (Alejandro Sanchez Palomero, Nico Van Der Burgt, Lauren Steadman, Dave Ellis and Brendan Bischoff) taking bronze, Team4 (Joe Kurt, George Peasgood, Melissa Reid, Hector Catala and Joshua Landmann) winning silver.

The winning team was Team 1 (Finley Jakes, Claire Cashmore, Oscar Kelly, Margret Ijdema and Jetze Plat), thanks in part to individual victories for Cashmore, Ijdema and Plat.

Thanks to our Partners

Join Us

And enjoy insurance benefits, race licensing and more...