Meet the athletes

Want to find out more about Great Britain's elite stars?

Get to know some of British Triathlon’s elite squad and hear about how they got into triathlon

British Triathlon names athletes on the World Class Programme for the year ahead


British Triathlon has announced the athletes on the UK Sport and National Lottery supported World Class Programme for 2024.

World Champions Beth Potter and Dave Ellis – alongside his guide Luke Pollard - have all been retained following their brilliant wins in Pontevedra.  

Joining Potter on the Olympic programme is fellow 2024 Paris Team GB triathlete Alex Yee, whilst Ellis is joined by Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Medallists, Lauren Steadman and Claire Cashmore.   

The Olympic programme also sees Olympic medallists Jonny Brownlee, Vicky Holland, Jess Learmonth, and Georgia Taylor-Brown return, alongside Kate Waugh following her first World Championship Series podium finish in Pontevedra. Retained on the Paratriathlon programme are Oscar Kelly and Mel Nicholls, off the back of a strong 2023 that saw the duo medal at World Triathlon Para Series races.  

2024 also sees several athletes joining the World Class Programme, some for the first time. Hugo Milner, fresh off his win at World Triathlon Cup Miyazaki, joins the Olympic programme alongside Tilly Anema and Jess Fullagar, who won a silver medal in the mixed team relay at 2023 World Triathlon Championship Series Sunderland.  

Hannah Moore returns to the Paralympic programme for 2024 after securing five medals in six races this year. She is joined by Henry Urand who recently transferred to the sport from cycling and was on the top step of the podium at 2023 World Triathlon Para Cup Taranto. 

In the Paralympic programme four additional guides have been selected alongside Pollard to support our visually impaired athletes as they prepare for Paris. Charlie Harding has been retained after joining the programme last year, as have Brooke Gillies and Hazel McLeod, while Jack Hutchens is a new addition.  

Mike Cavendish, British Triathlon Performance Director, said: “The athletes selected have delivered performances over the last 12-months that confirm their status as some of the best triathletes and Paratriathletes in the world.  

“We have a number of familiar faces returning to the programme alongside several new ones. It is a really exciting time for all of those selected and I look forward to seeing the progress they make over the next 12 months. For some that will be challenging for Olympic and Paralympic medals in Paris, while for others 2024 will be about continuing their athletic development towards LA and beyond.  

“We have strength in depth across the board and we have more athletes achieving performances that make them eligible for consideration than we have WCP places available. Some athletes will inevitably be disappointed not to have been offered support this year, but the door to them remains open in the coming years. 

“We continue to be hugely grateful for the support we receive from the National Lottery, and it will be central to the success of the programme as we prepare for Paris and then begin looking ahead to LA in 2028.” 

Programmes in full  

Olympic WCP 

Georgia Taylor-Brown – From Manchester, Trains in Leeds 
Alex Yee – From London, Trains in Loughborough  
Jonny Brownlee – From Leeds, Trains in Leeds  
Jess Learmonth – From Leeds, Trains in Leeds 
Sophie Coldwell – From Nottingham, Trains in Loughborough 
Beth Potter – From Glasgow, Trains in Leeds 
Vicky Holland – from Gloucester, Trains in Leeds  
Kate Waugh – From Gateshead, Trains in Leeds 
Sam Dickinson – From Leeds, Trains in Leeds 
Olivia Mathias – From Newark, Trains in Loughborough  
Ben Dijkstra* – From Loughborough, Trains in Loughborough  
Barclay Izzard – From Derby, Trains in Loughborough  
Jack Willis – From Middlesborough, Trains in Leeds  
Connor Bentley – From Crewe, Trains in Loughborough 
Dan Dixon – From Morpeth, Trains in Leeds/USA 
Sophie Alden* – From Norwich, Trains in Loughborough  
Jess Fullagar – from Bracknell, trains in Leeds 
Tilly Anema – from Norfolk, trains in Cardiff 
Hugo Milner – from Derby, trains in Derby 

Paralympic WCP 

Dave Ellis – From Derby, Trains in Loughborough 
Luke Pollard (guide) – From Telford, Trains in Loughborough 
Lauren Steadman – From Peterborough, Trains in London 
Claire Cashmore – From Kidderminster, Trains in Loughborough  
George Peasgood – From Safron Walden, Trains in Loughborough  
Alison Peasgood – From Dunfermilne, Trains in Loughborough 
Michael Taylor – From Barnstaple, Trains in Bristol/Bath 
Finley Jakes – From Eastbourne, Trains in Loughborough  
Oscar Kelly – From Redbridge, Trains in Loughborough  
Charlie Harding (guide) – From Penrith, Trains in Nottingham  
Megan Richter – From Birmingham, Trains in Birmingham  
Michael Salisbury – From Newcastle, Trains in Newcastle  
Mel Nicholls – From Tewkesbury, Trains in Tewkesbury/Loughborough 
Hannah Moore – from Stalbridge, Trains in Loughborough 
Henry Urand – from Asford, Trains in Loughborough 
Jack Hutchens (guide) – from Westward Ho!, Trains in Westward Ho! 
Brooke Gillies (guide) – from Fife, Trains in Loughborough 
Hazel Macleod – from Newcastle, trains in Edinburgh 

*initial 6-month membership only 

Thanks to our Partners

Join Us

Enjoy insurance benefits, race licensing and more...